Unicorn – A Collection Of Worlds: Resurrection (1989/2015/2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Unicorn – A Collection Of Worlds: Resurrection (1989/2015/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 40:02 minutes | 451 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Bandcamp | Front cover

Unicorn were definitely a band influenced by the British neo prog movement of the 1980s. The band was started by Swedish musician Dan Swanö, who is currently the vocalist, guitarist, ex-bassist and ex-drummer for the band Nightingale, lately vocalist, keyboardist and drummer for the band Witherscape, as well as the Owner of Unisound but he achieved fame as the vocalist and songwriter of progressive death metal band Edge of Sanity. This album have been originally released in Demo format on cassette. For this remastered re-release Dan have re-recorded all vocals and done the new remix. “A Collection of Worlds – Resurrection” is a brave project. But it shows the talent that Dan Swanö had as a teenager mixing with the talent that he has now.

In 1989 Unicorn recorded a second demo entitled “Tunes for the stork”, but the idea of releasing it was abandoned due to its bad sound.Finally the second demo was released the same year simply as ”A Collection of Worlds Part II”.Moreover, by the time Dan Swano had already started the story of Death Metal act Edge of Sanity and had spread many Unicorn flyers to lots of people interested in the newborn Edge of Sanity to promote his prog band.
Unicorn matured surprisingly fast over the year and the new demo finds them leaving almost all Melodic Rock hints behind and focusing on writing more demanding Neo Prog material with clever instrumental parts but also an accesible face.The excellent and memorable ”Times of Change” from the debut was also re-included in this demo.The rest of the tracks are also dominated by fantastic vocal arrangements, catchy grooves, great guitar work and plenty of piano paces along with the digital keyboards.What though pushes the band to the next level is the presence of demanding instrumental sections between the more easy-listening passages with numerous sudden breaks and the more evident presence of light symphonic passages here and there like on the beautiful ”Lake of time” and its flute-driven section.More importantly the album has a very positive energy coming out of these nice and dynamic pieces, which is easy to set the listener in a good mood.

Fantastic follow-up to the first demo, which finds the band more focused, more experienced and more inspired.First class Neo Prog and both enjoyable as well as historical release for anyone interested, though to track down a physical copy must be quite a difficult achievement.

01 – Czarina of Vermilion
02 – Yellow and Greg
03 – Times of Change
04 – The Dumb
05 – Lake of Time
06 – Visage
07 – Exhibition of Souls
08 – Tears of Joy

All tracks were restored & re-mixed.
Vocals was re-recorded in 2011.
More info – read in the “Behind the Scenes” essay.

Dan Swanö – Lead Vocals, Drums, Bicycle Bell
Peter Edwinzon – Piano, Synth, Carrot, Vocals
Anders Måreby – Guitars, Flute, Quintar, Slide Whistle, Vocals
Per Runesson – Bass, Referee Whistle, Siren Whistle, Saxophone

This Digital Download includes:
* A high resolution scan of the original artwork
* A high resolution scan of each lyric from the original artwork
* The 1486 word essay “Behind the Scenes” by Dan Swanö
* A credits page in English
* An information sheet about the band