The Oscar Peterson Trio with Herb Ellis – Hello Herbie (1970/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

The Oscar Peterson Trio with Herb Ellis – Hello Herbie (1970/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 37:59 minutes | 712 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover | © MPS
Recorded at MPS-Studio, Villingen in November 5–6, 1969

Guitarist Herb Ellis still considers this to be one of his personal favorite recordings. Ellis was reunited with his old boss Oscar Peterson and, with the assistance of Peterson’s trio of the period (with bassist Sam Jones and drummer Bobby Durham), the two lead voices often romp on the jam session-flavored set. Most of the chord changes are fairly basic (including three blues and “Seven Come Eleven”), and Peterson was clearly inspired by Ellis’ presence (and vice versa). ~~AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow


1. Wampton Blues 05:18
2. Exactly Like You 04:46
3. Day By Day 04:43
4. Hamp’s Blues 03:44
5. Blues for H. G. 06:03
6. A Lovely Way to Spend an Evening 08:21
7. Seven Come Eleven 05:04


Oscar Peterson, piano
Herb Ellis, guitar
Sam Jones, double bass
Bobby Durham, drums