The Dave Brubeck Quartet – Dave Digs Disney (1957/2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Dave Brubeck – Dave Digs Disney (1957/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 50:17 minutes | 559 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital booklet | © Columbia/Legacy

Inspired by an outing to Disneyland, Dave Brubeck performs eight classics, many of which were featured in Disney movies including Alice In Wonderland, Pinocchio, Snow White and Cinderella. Standouts include “Give A Little Whistle,” “Heigh-Ho,” “When You Wish Upon A Star” and “Some Day My Prince Will Come.” Dave Digs Disney received praise from publications including Q, All About Jazz and many more. This monumental recording features Paul Desmond, Norman Bates and Joe Morello.

4 stars – “Excellent…the Quartet dissecting the basic melodies, wringing out new subtleties and using them as a springboard for some inventive soloing.” – Q

This reissue contains the original LP of the same name plus two previously unissued songs (“Very Good Advice” and “So This Is Love”). Inspired by a trip with his family to Disneyland, Dave Brubeck recorded eight songs taken from four Disney movies (Alice in Wonderland, Pinocchio, Snow White and Cinderella), including such melodies as “Give a Little Whistle,” “Heigh Ho,” “When You Wish Upon a Star” and “Someday My Prince Will Come.” The funny part is that all of these songs were already in the Brubeck Quartet’s repertoire. The results are pleasing although, due to a misprint, the booklet only contains half of the original liner notes.

01 – Alice In Wonderland
02 – Give A Little Whistle
03 – Heigh-Ho (The Dwarfs’ Marching Song)
04 – When You Wish Upon A Star
05 – Some Day My Prince Will Come
06 – One Song
07 – Very Good Advice
08 – So This Is Love

Dave Brubeck – piano
Paul Desmond – alto saxophone
Norman Bates – bass
Joe Morello – drums