Tammy Wynette – The First Lady (1970/2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Tammy Wynette – The First Lady (1970/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 30:12 minutes | 638 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Columbia Nashville Legacy

The country music on this record moves along with the elegance of a deer cautiously approaching a riverbank. The songstress seems at the height of her powers, able to orchestrate each phrase and establishing a near alter ego relationship with the pedal steel guitar. What might keep listeners from returning over and over to this particular bottle of country wine would be the repetitious nature of the songs. This album gives the impression that producer Billy Sherrill decided to somehow follow or even top “Stand by Your Man” in terms of having a female singer either cooing in submissiveness or pleading to be let back into the arms of a particular man. It proves too daunting a task for the producer in his second role as author or co-author of a good chunk of these songs. Nothing has the rip-roaring thematic grandeur of “Stand by Your Man,” and boredom sets in. The second side provides a too-brief glimpse of the glory that could have been with “Sally Trash,” a wonderful song that easily ranks among Tammy Wynette’s best recordings. ~ Eugene Chadbourne

01 – Run, Woman, Run
02 – I Wish I Had A Mommy Like You
03 – True And Lasting Love
04 – I Never Once Stopped Loving You
05 – Safe In These Lovin’ Arms Of Mine
06 – Sally Trash
07 – My Daddy Doll
08 – The Lovin’ Kind
09 – He’s Still My Man
10 – Buy Me A Daddy
11 – Playin Around With Love