Maroon 5 – V {Deluxe Edition} (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Maroon 5 – V (2014) [Deluxe Edition]
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 52:20 minutes | 1,3 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | © 222 Records/Interscope Records

Maroon 5’s latest provides a sonic summation of the group’s journey to date – capturing the essence of the earliest M5 hits through to their most recent successes, as well as providing a picture of its artistic growth into the future. Bringing it all back home, V features the return of M5’s original keyboardist Jesse Carmichael to the fold, rejoining frontman Adam Levine, guitarist James Valentine, bassist Mickey Madden, drummer/percussionist Matt Flynn, and keyboardist PJ Morton after a two-year hiatus. The group’s fifth studio album features singles “Maps” and “Animals”.

It wasn’t noted much at the time, but founding keyboardist Jesse Carmichael sat out Maroon 5’s 2012 album Overexposed — a circumstance that just happened to coincide with Adam Levine capitalizing on his Voice-fueled stardom. Overexposed and over-filled with guest producers and songwriters drafted to compensate for the absent Carmichael, rapper Wiz Khalifa, reliable Swedish hitmakers Max Martin & Shellback, and icy OneRepublic frontman Ryan Tedder gave the group a steely sleekness to suit contemporary charts. Some of this is retained on V, the 2014 record that marks Carmichael’s return to the group, partially because all those guests save Khalifa return for a second helping. The absence of the rapper suggests Maroon 5 aren’t quite as concerned with sounding youthful as they were last time around, which is generally true. Some tracks maintain the glossy veneer that overwhelmed Overexposed — not entirely a surprise with Martin billed as the record’s executive producer — and, despite some unnecessary vocal processing on Levine scattered throughout the record, these are largely the ones featuring returning guests: Tedder co-writes and co-produces the album’s lead single, “Maps,” a song where Levine’s Sting mannerisms steamroll the hooks,” while Shellback helms “Animals,” “In Your Pocket,” and “Feelings,” with all but the last placing emphasis on brittle beats. Elsewhere, the vibe shifts slightly back to the soulful pop that’s remained at Maroon 5’s core since the beginning, here given an ever so slight maturation to balance the modern moves heard on the rest of the record. Sometimes, the group achieves a delicate balance between the two extremes — “It Was Always You,” “New Love,” and the aforementioned “Feelings” — but the best moments on V are when Maroon 5 embrace the tuneful, slightly soulful adult contemporary pop band they’ve always been, as they do on “Sugar,” “Coming Back for You,” and the Gwen Stefani duet “My Heart Is Open”.

01 – Maps
02 – Animals
03 – It Was Always You
04 – Unkiss Me
05 – Sugar
06 – Leaving California
07 – In Your Pocket
08 – New Love
09 – Coming Back For You
10 – Feelings
11 – My Heart Is Open [feat. Gwen Stefani]12 – Shoot Love
13 – Sex And Candy
14 – Adam Levine: Lost Stars

Mastering engineer: Tom Coyne.

Adam Levine – vocals, guitar
Jesse Carmichael – keyboards, guitar, backing vocals
Mickey Madden – bass guitar
James Valentine – guitar, backing vocals
Matt Flynn – drums, percussion
PJ Morton – keyboards, backing vocals

Additional musicians:
Sam Farrar – gutiars, backing vocals
Gwen Stefani, Mike Posner – vocals
Shellback – bass, drums, guitar, backing vocals
Mattias Bylund, Phil Peterson – strings
Ammo, Cirkut – drums, keyboards, percussion
Johan Carlsson, Ashley Cahill, Ross Golan, Ryan Jackson-Healy, Aryn Wüthrich – backing vocals
Dr. Luke – drums, guitar, keyboards, percussion, synthesizer bass
Jason Fields, Travis Leete, Sam Schamberg, Shawn Tellez – vocals, handclapping

Producers: Ammo, Astma & Rocwell, Benny Blanco, Johan Carlsson, Cirkut, Jason Evigan, Rodney “Darkchild” Jerkins, Adam Levine, Andre Lindal, The Monsters and the Strangerz, Ogzo, Shellback, Stargate, Ryan Tedder and Noel Zancanella
Recording engineers: Mikkel Eriksen, Matthew Tryba, Chris “Anger Management” Scafani, Shellback, Jonathan Sher and Clint Gibbs
Mixing engineers: Johan Carlsson, John Hanes, Serban Ghenea, Phil Seaford (assistant) and Tim Roberts (assistant)
Mastering engineer: Tom Coyne