Lynyrd Skynyrd – Last Of A Dyin’ Breed {Special Edition} (2012) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Lynyrd Skynyrd – Last Of A Dyin’ Breed {Special Edition} (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:00:20 minutes | 680 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Roadrunner Records – Loud & Proud

“Last of a Dyin’ Breed” is the fourteenth studio album by American Southern rock band Lynyrd Skynyrd. Led by core members Gary Rossington (guitar), Johnny Van Zant (vocals) and Rickey Medlocke (guitar), along with longtime drummer Michael Cartellone, Skynyrd has recorded an album that continues to build on the legacy that began over 35 years ago in Jacksonville, Florida. Joining them in the studio and on the road are new bassist Johnny Colt (Black Crowes, Train) guitarist Mark “Sparky” Matejka (a “Nashville cat, just a pickin’ fool,” according to Rossington), and keyboardist Peter Keys, who replaced Powell on the God & Guns tour. “Last Of A Dyin’ Breed” re-ignites the in-studio alchemy the band found with Guns producer Bob Marlette, and the sound is traditional Skynyrd blended to perfection with the edge of immediacy. In short, it’s rock n roll for the times.

Defiance runs deep in Lynyrd Skynyrd’s DNA but 2012’s Last of a Dyin’ Breed finds the veteran Southern rockers hunkering down, emphasizing their old-fashioned outlaw ways. All the recognizable redneck rebel sentiments are here – it’s all god, guns, Southern girls, and sweet tea – but Skynyrd’s signature sound is absent. In this, their third act, the kings of Southern rock have cut out the country and boogie, leaving behind a heavy-booted blues grind and churning hard rock – sounds that signify the modern South even if they’re not classically Southern rock. And that fits for this incarnation of Lynyrd Skynyrd. They may flirt with fleeting references to their past – the first verse of “Good Teacher” recalling “The Ballad of Curtis Loew,” the soaring soul-speckled ballad “Ready to Fly” a distant cousin of “Freebird” – but Johnny Van Zant, Gary Rossington, and Rickey Medlocke aren’t in this game just to revive past glories; they’re engaging with the modern world, co-opting the leaden stripper rock of Nickelback for “Homegrown,” once again bringing back former Marilyn Manson guitarist John 5 for a cameo, and writing a Tea Party anthem in “Nothing Comes Easy.” Certainly, Skynyrd are making sturdy, old-time rock & roll for an audience that’s likely peppered with Tea Partiers, the kind of Middle American worried that the world they knew is slipping away, and Last of a Dyin’ Breed provides a bit of a rallying point for them: it’s true to their roots but living in the moment. If Skynyrd sound a little less nimble than they used to, chalk it up not to age but to the conscious decision to play everything heavier than before; without elements of the backwoods, they’re dogged rockers, happy to carry the torch they lit nearly four decades ago even if it doesn’t burn as bright as it once did.

01 – Last Of A Dyin’ Breed
02 – One Day At A Time
03 – Homegrown
04 – Ready To Fly
05 – Mississippi Blood
06 – Good Teacher
07 – Something To Live For
08 – Life’s Twisted
09 – Nothing Comes Easy
10 – Honey Hole
11 – Start Livin’ Life Again
12 – Poor Man’s Dream (Bonus Track)
13 – Do It Up Night (Bonus Track)
14 – Sad Songs (Bonus Track)
15 – Low Down Dirty (Bonus Track)

Johnny Van Zant – lead vocals
Gary Rossington – guitars
Rickey Medlocke – guitars
Mark Matejka – guitars
Peter Keys – keyboards
Greg Morrow – drums
Mike Brignardello – bass
John Lowery – additional guitar
Jerry Douglas – dobro