Led Zeppelin – Led Zeppelin III (1970) {Deluxe Edition 2014} [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Led Zeppelin – Led Zeppelin III (1970) {Deluxe Edition 2014]
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:24:39 minutes | 1,94 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HighResAudio.com | Front cover | © Warner Music

The nine bonus tracks featured on Led Zeppelin III’s companion audio continue to offer a window into the band’s recording process with seven studio outtakes of songs from the album as well as three previously unheard compositions: “Jennings Farm Blues” (an instrumental forerunner of “Bron-Yr-Aur Stomp”), “Bathroom Sound” (an instrumental version of “Out On The Tiles”), and their take on the blues classics “Keys To The Highway/Trouble In Mind”.

On their first two albums, Led Zeppelin unleashed a relentless barrage of heavy blues and rockabilly riffs, but Led Zeppelin III provided the band with the necessary room to grow musically. While there are still a handful of metallic rockers, III is built on a folky, acoustic foundation that gives the music extra depth. And even the rockers aren’t as straightforward as before: the galloping “Immigrant Song” is powered by Robert Plant’s banshee wail, “Celebration Day” turns blues-rock inside out with a warped slide guitar riff, and “Out on the Tiles” lumbers along with a tricky, multi-part riff. Nevertheless, the heart of the album lies on the second side, when the band delve deeply into English folk. “Gallows Pole” updates a traditional tune with a menacing flair, and “Bron-Y-Aur Stomp” is an infectious acoustic romp, while “That’s the Way” and “Tangerine” are shimmering songs with graceful country flourishes. The band hasn’t left the blues behind, but the twisted bottleneck blues of “Hats off to (Roy) Harper” actually outstrips the epic “Since I’ve Been Loving You,” which is the only time Zeppelin sound a bit set in their ways.

01 – Immigrant Song
02 – Friends
03 – Celebration Day
04 – Since I’ve Been Loving You
05 – Out On The Tiles
06 – Gallows Pole
07 – Tangerine
08 – That’s The Way
09 – Bron-Y-Aur Stomp
10 – Hats Off To (Roy) Harper
11 – The Immigrant Song (Alternate Mix)
12 – Friends (Track – No Vocal)
13 – Celebration Day (Alternate Mix)
14 – Since I’ve Been Loving You (Rough Mix)
15 – Bathroom Sound (Track – No Vocal)
16 – Gallows Pole (Rough Mix)
17 – That’s The Way (Rough Mix)
18 – Jennings Farm Blues (Rough Mix)
19 – Key To The Highway/Trouble In Mind (Rough Mix)