Kasabian – Empire (2006) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Kasabian – Empire (2006)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:05:40 minutes | 782 MB | Genre: Alternative
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Front cover | © Columbia

Empire is the second album by British rock band Kasabian, released in August 2006. The album went on to No. 1 in the UK Albums Chart upon its release and was preceded by the release of new single “Empire” on 24 July 2006. According to Tom Meighan in an interview on the album with the NME in early 2006, “Empire” is a word used by the band to describe something that is good. As of 3 May 2017 the album has sold over 800,000 copies in the band’s home country of the UK.

Practicing truth in advertising, U.K. rockers Kasabian move away from the revolutionary sleeve art that graced their debut and onto something more ornate for their elaborate follow-up album, Empire. Attacking the sophomore jinx head-on, Empire tries hard to be urgent, epic, and important, and the grand mishmash of influences – the Chemical Brothers, Primal Scream, the Beatles, and the Rolling Stones – is delivered with all the conviction and swagger one desires from the scruffy crew with the Oasis-sized ego. Adding to this jumble are Sweet, Slade, and Ian Brown, who are all equally responsible for the opening title cut. Glammed-up rebel music, “Empire” is a satisfying, busy rocker that gives way to the interesting rave-up “Shoot the Runner,” which would be very T. Rex if it wasn’t for the Euro-disco Giorgio Moroder-styled bridge. From here ’til the album’s final stretch, twists, turns, and time changes are in abundance and imagination runs wild as Brit-pop smokes a hookah and sits on a multicolored toadstool. Lost in all this is the instantly grabbing songwriting of Kasabian’s debut, and to some extent, the bandmembers themselves, who often seem to be riding this swirl instead of guiding it. They regain control right about “By My Side,” a memorable, lush tune that suggests what it would sound like if James Bond film themes had proper B-sides. The winding “Stuntman” is as ambitious as anything else here but the pieces all fall into place for a change, and by the time the perfect, slowly developing closer “The Doberman” rolls around, this unapproachable effort has sort of explained itself and even seduced a little. Repeat listens help put things in place, and a familiarity with the band helps a lot, so go to their much more focused debut for the real punch, then come here when you want something bigger but not necessarily better.

01 – Empire
02 – Shoot the Runner
03 – Last Trip (In Flight)
04 – Me Plus One
05 – Sun/Rise/Light/Flies
06 – Apnoea
07 – By My Side
08 – Stuntman
09 – Seek & Destroy
10 – British Legion
11 – The Doberman
12 – Shoot the Runner (Live From XFM) [Bonus Track]13 – Reason Is Treason (Live From XFM) [Bonus Track]14 – Empire (Live From XFM) [Bonus Track]15 – The Doberman (Live From XFM) [Bonus Track]16 – L.S.F. (Live From XFM) [Bonus Track]