Jon Regen – Stop Time (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Jon Regen – Stop Time (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 38:14 minutes | 409 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Motema

“Stop Time” is the latest album from singer/songwriter Jon Regen, his first for Motéma Records. Fresh but at times bittersweet, Regen’s style blends elements of Randy Newman, Elton John, and Billy Joel into a sound that is entirely his own, and in this collaboration with producer Mitchell Froom the pianist has created a varied album that swings and grooves. Produced by Mitchell Froom (Crowded House, Paul McCartney), and featuring Davey Faragher and Pete Thomas from Elvis Costello and the Imposters, STOP TIME finds Regen at the peak of his songwriting and pianistic powers, with ten original tunes that brim with humor and heart. In the words of storied Rolling Stones keyboardist Chuck Leavell, “‘Stop Time’ never stops pleasing the ears”.

Stop Time is the sixth album to Jon Regen’s name but it’s better to view the 2015 release as the sequel to 2011’s Revolution. On that record, the pianist eased over from jazz to a pop/rock that recalled the melodic, keyboard-fueled singer/songwriters of the ’70s – think Billy Joel crossed with echoes of Boz Scaggs and Steely Dan – but with a more sophisticated swing. With Stop Time, Regen goes even further into pop, sharpening his songs while deepening his groove. With regard to the latter, he’s assisted by the crackerjack rhythm section of drummer Pete Thomas and bassist Davey Faragher – aka Elvis Costello’s Imposters, minus Steve Nieve – and producer Mitchell Froom helps give Stop Time an elasticity that shifts between saloon songs, exquisitely detailed pop, and casual shuffles like the title track. Throughout it all, Regen is the star: possessing a sly wit and nimble touch, he slides into lyrical solos without losing sight of his songs, a skill that gives this album a rich, lasting resonance.

01 – I Will Wait
02 – Morning Papers
03 – Run to Me
04 – Borderline
05 – Stop Time
06 – Walk on Water
07 – Annie
08 – Home Again
09 – Chapter Two
10 – These Are The Days

Produced by Mitchell Froom.

Jon Regen – piano, vocals
Davey Faragher – bass
Pete Thomas – drums