John Beasley – MONK’estra, Vol. 2 (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

John Beasley – MONK’estra, Vol. 2 (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 58:20 minutes | 650 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | © Mack Avenue Records

The brainchild of bandleader, arranger, and pianist John Beasley, MONK’estra is a project which creatively reimagines the music of the legendary Thelonious Monk. The present release is the second album in this series and brings Monk classics such as Light Blue and Played Twice into a 21st-century soundworld, making for a unique and invigorating jazz experience.

If one were to have access to a time machine and could go back to see legendary bandleader Thelonious Monk in concert during the 1950s and ‘60s, you’d likely see him so compelled by the music that he would retreat from his piano mid-performance and conduct his band, no matter how small or large, through an impassioned dance. But behind the joyous dance that overtook the stage lay the societal struggles a jazz musician endured to present that 90 minutes of musical freedom – a tale of police harassment, systemic oppression and constant battles for equality. Fast forward to 2017 and composer-arranger-pianist John Beasley is using Monk’s spontaneous movements and experiences as the basis for conducting radically reconceived versions of the late composer’s music for his critically acclaimed big band project: MONK’estra.

01 – Brake’s Sake (feat. Dontae Winslow)
02 – Played Twice
03 – Crepuscule with Nellie
04 – Evidence
05 – Ugly Beauty / Pannonica
06 – I Mean You
07 – Light Blue
08 – Dear Ruby
09 – Criss Cross
10 – Work