Jason Mraz – Yes! (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Jason Mraz – Yes! (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 51:46 minutes | 1,11 GB | Genre: Pop
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks.com | Front cover | © Atlantic Records

Jason Mraz’s fifth studio release, “YES!” sees the San Diego-based troubadour teaming up with his longtime friends and collaborators, Raining Jane, for a purely acoustic and more intimate sound than heard on his previous releases. “YES!,” produced by Mraz along with Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes, First Aid Kit, Rilo Kiley), was recorded in rural Omaha, Nebraska and inland Oceanside, California. While somewhat intimate and esoteric, “YES!” still remains a Mraz-like pop album and features classical instruments, cello, sitar and vintage guitars and sings about universal themes of love, faith, healing, environmental stewardship and inner peace.

The exclamation point that punctuates its title suggests Jason Mraz may be a little enthusiastic on Yes! but that’s a feint, hiding how this 2014 record is the next logical step on the singer/songwriter’s road of seduction. Gone is the celebrated wordplay, a self-conscious maturation that was perhaps inevitable, but also absent are the smooth soul flourishes of 2012’s Love Is a Four Letter Word. Those slow grooves underscored how Mraz embraced his role as a middlebrow make-out king in the wake of the success of “I’m Yours,” but Yes! feels like a truer follow-up to that 2009 hit than the 2012 LP because it emphasizes Jason Mraz the sensitive singer/songwriter with an acoustic guitar slung across his shoulders. He flirts with rhythms floating up from the Caribbean, he covers Boyz II Men’s “It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye to Yesterday,” he cops a bit of the Lumineers’ big-beat folk stomp, and he strums a ukulele — but these are all mild, complementary accents to a sun-kissed collection of romantic songs. Mraz doesn’t avoid amorous clichés so much as he shamelessly embraces each and every one, addressing songs to a lover who is also his best friend and a “beautiful thing,” celebrating long drives and quiet times with the one he loves. Such subjects are a clear indication that Yes! is not a record fueled by the heady rush of love at first sight; it’s an album designed to soundtrack a long getaway weekend for a couple already in love.

01 – Rise
02 – Love Someone
03 – Hello, You Beautiful Thing
04 – Long Drive
05 – Everywhere
06 – Best Friend
07 – Quiet
08 – Out Of My Hands
09 – It’s So Hard To Say Goodbye To Yesterday
10 – 3 Things
11 – You Can Rely On Me
12 – Back To The Earth
13 – A World With You
14 – Shine

Jason Mraz – vocals, guitar
Raining Jane – rock-folk band

Producers: Jason Mraz, Mike Mogis, Chris Keup and Stewart Myers

Please Note: Tracks 1, 2, 7, 11 are 44k recordings mastered to 96/24.