James Falzone’s Renga Ensemble – The Room Is (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

James Falzone’s Renga Ensemble – The Room Is (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:11:11 minutes | 1,33 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: Bandcamp | @ Allos Documents

The debut recording from James Falzone’s Renga Ensemble, handpicked by Falzone, drawing together some of the most diverse and adventurous clarinet and saxophone players working in jazz and improvised music today.

Superb Chicago clarinetist and composer James Falzone has adapted jazz-derived improvisation to Middle Eastern traditions, played Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time, and paid homage to Benny Goodman, so I’m almost used to seeing him launch rigorous, conceptually interesting projects. Still, his new six-member clarinet choir, Renga, is especially exciting: Falzone, Ken Vandermark, Jason Stein, and Keefe Jackson are joined by visiting musicians Ben Goldberg and Ned Rothenberg, two of the most original clarinetists of the past two decades. The group takes its name from a centuries-old form of collaborative Japanese poetry, where two or three poets blend their words into a single meditative work. “This struck me as an apt metaphor for an ensemble of improvising musicians,” Falzone explains. Three members of Renga occasionally play saxophones, but clarinets dominate, ranging from the hefty contrabass to the sopranino E-flat horn; in this context, timbral exploration will be just as important to the group’s music as Falzone’s longtime interest in blurring the lines between improvisation and composition.

01 – Prelude
02 – Not Seeing
03 – The First Renga (Ben)
04 – The Second Renga (Ken)
05 – The Room Is
06 – Interlude
07 – White
08 – The Third Renga (Keefe)
09 – The Fourth Renga (Ned)
10 – Until
11 – The Fifth Renga (James)
12 – The Sixth Renga (Jason)
13 – That Red Apple
14 – Postlude

Recorded April 12, 2013 at Electrical Audio in Chicago.
Engineered by Greg Norman.
Mixed by James Falzone and Greg Norman.
Mastering by Jason Ward at Chicago Mastering.

James Falzone – Bb and Eb clarinets
Ken Vandermark – Bb clarinet, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone
Keefe Jackson – tenor saxophone, bass clarinet, contra Bb bass clarinet
Jason Stein – bass clarinet
Ben Goldberg – Bb clarinet, contra Eb alto clarinet
Ned Rothenberg – Bb clarinet, alto saxophone