Jakob Bro – Streams (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Jakob Bro – Streams (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz  | Time – 48:35 minutes | 841 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Digital Booklet | © ECM

Streams is the second ECM album from Danish guitarist Jakob Bro as leader, featuring his pedigreed American trio members: bassist Thomas Morgan is known for his work with Paul Motian and John Abercrombie while drummer Joey Baron often backs Bill Frisell and John Zorn. Bro composed all the songs himself except for one track written by the three musicians.

On his second leader album for ECM following on from the prizewinning Gefion – Danish guitarist Jakob Bro continues to refine his trio project, with its emphases on melody, sound, space, layered textures and interaction.

The rapport between Bro and Thomas Morgan (Bro calls him my musical soul mate) has become something extraordinary, and often guitarist and bassist develop improvisational ideas in parallel.

Theres an historical aptness, too, in the choice of Joey Baron as the bands new drummer, for Bro first encountered Morgan when the bassist was playing in Barons band a decade ago… On Streams Joey Baron dives into the musics detail with obvious pleasure.

This recording features five new Bro pieces: Opal, Full Moon Europa, Shell Pink, Sisimut and Heroines (heard in both a trio version and a particularly lovely solo version).

Completing the albums repertoire is the freely improvised PM Dream, dedicated to the late Paul Motian.

Jakobs approach to melody acknowledges the influence of Motian, and both Bro and Morgan played in the late drummers ensembles. Recorded at Studios La Buissonne in the South of France in November 2015 and produced by Manfred Eicher.

01 – Opal
02 – Heroines
03 – PM Dream
04 – Full Moon Europa
05 – Shell Pink
06 – Heroines
07 – Sisimiut

Produced by Manfred Eicher. Engineered by Gérard de Haro and Nicolas Baillard.
Recorded at Studios La Buissonne, Pernes les Fontaines, France in November 2015.

Jakob Bro – guitar
Thomas Morgan – double bass
Joey Baron – drums