In Tall Buildings – Akinetic (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

In Tall Buildings – Akinetic (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 36:50 minutes | 393 MB | Genre: Indie
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Western Vinyl

Akinetic, the new album from Chicago songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Erik Hall’s one-man polymathic project In Tall Buildings sees its creator plunge headlong into allegories of communication, loss, impulse, vice, and mass-denialism. With the addition of producer and engineer Brian Deck (Modest Mouse, Iron & Wine) Hall crashes through the aforementioned subject matter with brightness and lucidity, yielding his most intelligent and focused songwriting yet. Working out of his house with Deck in Pilsen, Chicago, Hall’s efforts yield ten tracks of spacious and textured handmade pop, comprising one of the most sharply written and deftly recorded home-studio albums in memory. Where his previous titles were natural documents of his musicianship and songcraft, Akinetic arose from deliberate intent to write in concrete pop forms, lyrically informed by what he observed of modern culture, namely its fixation on technology-driven pseudo-progress at the cost of direct communication. ‘Rather than merely dwell in an inviting musical bed,’ Hall states, ‘I wanted to write songs with intentionality that would more directly declare themselves to a listener instead of just passively inviting them in.’ That this was all achieved by one person playing every instrument, gently guided by a kindred and veteran co-producer, denotes Akinetic as the greatest height yet reached for In Tall Buildings.

01. Beginning to Fade
02. Akinetic
03. Long Way Down
04. Overconscious
05. Cascadia
06. Siren Song
07. Curtain
08. New Moon
09. Days in Clover
10. Wake Up