Hugh Coltman – Shadows & Live at Jazz a Vienne (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Hugh Coltman – Shadows & Live at Jazz a Vienne (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:35:15 minutes | 0,98 GB | Genre: Jazz, Blues
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover

Deluxe reissue of “Shadows: Songs of Nat King Cole” album. This release expanded with 1 bonus track & additionally contains “Live at Jazz à Vienne” as second disc.

The idea behind the album was born of Hugh’s intention to shed light upon the darker part of Nat King Cole’s life. That of a black musician, active at a time when segregation was rife and most black artists entered music venues by the service entrance. Indeed Cole himself narrowly escaped a kidnapping in 1956 in Alabama and even though successful, he was clearly not welcome in Beverly Hills where he received threats from the Klu Klux Klan soon after the family’s arrival. Cole stated: ‘I can’t understand it … I have not taken part in any protests. Nor have I joined an organisation fighting segregation. Why should they attack me ?”. Hugh’s idea was to reveal these “Shadows”, rarely if ever evident in the choice of material or production of Cole’s work. The choice of songs, production and Hugh’s vocal performances on Shadows, often rooted in his passion for the Blues, give an undertone of tension, even unease. Notwithstanding Hugh’s original idea, when he came to record the closing title for the album, Morning Star, an ode to a mother’s love, it became clear to him that this project was in fact, much closer to home. Shadows… is Hugh paying homage to his mother, through the work of Nat King Cole.


DISC 1 – Shadows – Songs of Nat King Cole:
01 – Are You Disenchanted
02 – What’ll I Do
03 – Pretend
04 – I Can’t Be Bothered
05 – Annabelle
06 – Nature Boy
07 – Walkin’
08 – Mona Lisa
09 – Meet Me at No Special Place (and I’ll Be There at No Particular Time)
10 – The Shadows
11 – I Never Had a Chance
12 – Smile
13 – Morning Star
14 – Small Towns Are Smile Towns [Bonus Track]

DISC 2 – Live at Jazz à Vienne:
01 – Are You Disenchanted
02 – Pretend
03 – Meet Me at No Special Place (and I’ll Be There at No Particular Time)
04 – Smile
05 – Nature Boy
06 – Mona Lisa
07 – Lovin’ You
08 – Walkin’