Glen Campbell – By The Time I Get To Phoenix (1967/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Glen Campbell – By The Time I Get To Phoenix (1967/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 26:50 minutes | 1,08 GB | Genre: Country
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Source: PonoMusic | Artwork: Front cover | © Capitol Records Nashville
Recorded: 1967, Capitol Recording Studio, Hollywood, CA

Glen Campbell’s commercial breakthrough came by way of the title track, which was the direct precursor in production terms to “Wichita Lineman,” and by the same writer. The cover of Paul Simon’s “Homeward Bound” is sincere if a little perfunctory, but Campbell’s rendition of Ernest Tubb’s “Tomorrow Never Comes” is a bravura performance, rich and soulful, as well as recalling Rodgers & Hammerstein’s “You’ll Never Walk Alone” as done by Gerry & the Pacemakers. “Cold December in Your Heart” harks back to Campbell’s country-folk material, a piece of midtempo country-pop. Material like that and the similar “Back in the Race,” Dorsey Burnette’s “Hey Little One,” Jerry Reed’s “You’re Young and You’ll Forget,” and Bill Anderson’s “Bad Seed” hold up better than more pop-focused numbers like “My Baby’s Gone,” though the string backings on most of these very much date them. The final number here, the touching “Love Is a Lonesome River,” makes a brilliant coda. By the Time I Get to Phoenix was reissued in August of 2001 in a newly remastered, upgraded edition, with somewhat crisper sound, as part of Capitol-Nashville’s Cornerstones series. –Bruce Eder

1 By the Time I Get to Phoenix 2:44
2 Homeward Bound 2:39
3 Tomorrow Never Comes 2:29
4 Cold December (In Your Heart) 2:29
5 My Baby’s Gone 2:52
6 Back in the Race 1:58
7 Hey Little One 2:32
8 Bad Seed 2:20
9 I’ll Be Lucky Someday 2:26
10 You’re Young and You’ll Forget 2:16
11 Love Is a Lonesome River 2:05

Glen Campbell – vocals, acoustic guitar
James Burton – acoustic guitar, electric guitars
Joe Osborn – bass guitar
Jim Gordon – drums