Ella Fitzgerald – Like Someone In Love (1957/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Ella Fitzgerald – Like Someone In Love (1957/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 53:56 minutes | 2,24 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: ProStudioMasters | Front Cover | © Verve Music
Recorded: Tracks 1 to 11 recorded in Los Angeles, October 15, 1957; Tracks 12 to 15 recorded in Los Angeles, October 28, 1957 in Hollywood, Los Angeles

Like Someone in Love is a 1957 studio album by the American jazz singer Ella Fitzgerald, with a studio orchestra arranged and conducted by Frank DeVol. This album represents a fine example of Ella’s singing from this period, recorded at the same time as her albums with Louis Armstrong.

The album was also recorded in the midst of her epic ‘Songbooks’ project, celebrating the composers of the ‘Great American Songbook’ and Broadway. The album features only four songs written by the composers featured in her ‘Songbooks’, instead concentrating on very famous ballads by lesser known writers. Some songs on the album were also recorded with Armstrong on the albums that they collaborated on from this period. The famous American saxophonist Stan Getz is featured on tenor sax on four tracks, including “Midnight Sun” and “You’re Blasé”. Ted Nash plays the alto sax and solos. Cover photos are by the great Phil Stern.

Ella Fitzgerald was accompanied by an orchestra arranged by Frank DeVol for this fine studio session; the CD reissue has been augmented by four selections recorded a month later. Most of the songs are veteran standards, Stan Getz’s warm tenor helps out on four tunes, and — although this is not an essential release — her voice was so strong and appealing during this era that all of her recordings from the mid- to late ’50s are enjoyable and easily recommended. –Scott Yanow

1 There’s A Lull In My Life 3:23
2 More Than You Know 3:14
3 What Will I Tell My Heart 3:27
4 I Never Had A Chance 2:44
5 Close Your Eyes 2:54
6 We’ll Be Together Again 3:18
7 Then I’ll Be Tired Of You 3:10
8 Like Someone In Love 3:07
9 Midnight Sun 3:54
10 I Thought About You 2:51
11 You’re Blase 3:55
12 Night Wind 3:16
13 What’s New 3:04
14 Hurry Home 4:37
15 How Long Has This Been Going On 5:48

Ella Fitzgerald – Vocals
Frank De Vol And His Orchestra
Stan Getz – Tenor Saxophone (#1, 3, 9, 11, 13)