Eden Atwood – Waves: The Bossa Nova Session (2002) [Official Digital Download DSF DSD64/2.82MHz + FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Eden Atwood – Waves: The Bossa Nova Session (2002)
DSD64 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,82 MHz | Time – 1:01:02 minutes | 2,41 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 1:01:02 minutes | 1,23 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Booklet, Front Cover
Genre: Jazz, Vocal | © Groove Note

The inviting sensitivity of singer Eden Atwood and the sensuous rhythms of Brazil make for a stirring musical marriage on Atwood’s first Groove Note release Waves: The Bossa Nova Sessions. Atwood, who’s thrilled audiences from Chicago to Shanghai with her superb vocal instrument and unbridled sense of expression, gives the music of Jobim, Ellington, Lennon-McCartney and others fresh meaning with unmatched warmth, conviction and a flirtatious touch of playfulness.

After a six-year span since making her final recording for Concord, singer Eden Atwood’s triumphant return to the studio exudes a confidence that some writers think was lacking in her earlier work. With first-rate arrangements by pianist Bill Cunliffe and a supporting cast including alto saxophonist and flutist Pete Christlieb, guitarist Anthony Wilson, bassist Darek Oles, drummer Joe LaBarbera, and percussionist Scott Breadman, Atwood delves into memorable tunes by Antonio Carlos Jobim (“Meditation,” “The Girl From Ipanema,” and “He’s a Carioca”) as well as bossa nova treatments of Duke Ellington’s overlooked gem “Don’t You Know I Care?,” Irving Berlin’s “How Deep Is the Ocean?,” and the Beatles’ “The Fool on the Hill” with equal success. Her playful side comes through in the delightful “O Pato,” while she doesn’t overdo her emotions when interpreting a bittersweet ballad such as Michel Legrand’s “Once Upon a Summertime.” She also wrote lyrics for Jobim’s mellow ballad “Carminos Cruzados.” This long overdue comeback release by one of the promising young jazz singers to emerge during the 1990s is warmly recommended.

01 – He’s A Carioca
02 – O Pato
03 – Meditation
04 – Girl From Ipanema
05 – Once Upon A Summertime
06 – Don’t You Know I Care
07 – Waves/Caminos Cruzados
08 – Fool On The Hill
09 – How Deep Is The Ocean
10 – Brazil
11 – It’s A Quiet Thing

Produced by Joe Harley. Arranged by Bill Cunliffe.
Recorded on May 25-29, 2002 by Michael С Ross at Record One, Sherman Oaks, CA,
Mastering: David Glasser at Airshow Mastering using the Sony Direct Stream Digital™ System.
DSD file created by Gus Skinas from the SACD cutting master.

Eden Atwood – vocals
Anthony Wilson – guitar
Bill Cunliffe – piano
Pete Christlieb – tenor sax, flute
Darek Oleszkiewicz – bass
Joe LaBarbera – drums
Scott Breadman – percussion