Dennis Russell Davies & Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana – Maderna & Berio: Now, and Then (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Dennis Russell Davies & Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana – Maderna & Berio: Now, and Then (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:02:27 minutes | 1,16 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download |Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM New Series

Don’t be fooled by the album cover: the music recorded here is NOT Maderna, but Frescobaldi, Gabrieli and a few other composers from the same era, only orchestrated by Maderna. Among these late Renaissance and baroque works, as re-written, can be found, as a kind of pillar whose meaning in the album rather defies comprehension, theSequenza XII by Berio which was initially conceived for a guitar solo and transcribed by the composer for guitar and chamber orchestra under the name of Chemins V. The whole work is about orchestrations, re-editions, translations from other eras. When it comes to Maderna and other old composers, the interest is neither musicological nor historical, as the orchestrations were done in the 20th Century, with 20th-Century orchestral techniques. Maderna’s work, dating from the 1950s to the 1970s, bears witness to the widespread interest in masters from the past, with new editions, exhumations, rediscoveries; and Monteverdi was played without overmuch concern for period instruments – even if Hindemith, for example, tried to perform L’Orfeo with what old instruments he was able to gather… Seen from this point of view, the Maderna orchestrations are almost recompositions, although without ever betraying or travestying the manuscript, as Stravinsky did with Pergolese: it sticks, for example, to a “baroque” orchestra from our times, without instruments which did not exist at the time. A truly interesting recording.

01. Tre Pezzi-1. Recercar super LA-FA-SOL-LA-RE (Transcription By Bruno Maderna)
02. Tre Pezzi-2a. Christe (Transcription By Bruno Maderna)
03. Tre Pezzi-2b. Kyrie (Transcription By Bruno Maderna)
04. Tre Pezzi-3. Bergamasca (Transcription By Bruno Maderna)
05. La Basadonna (Transcription By Bruno Maderna)
06. Chemins V
07. Canzone a tre cori (Transcription By Bruno Maderna)
08. La Napolitana (Transcription By Bruno Maderna)
09. La Venexiana (Transcription By Bruno Maderna)
10. La Veronese (Transcription By Bruno Maderna)
11. La Romana (Transcription By Bruno Maderna)
12. La Mantovana (Transcription By Bruno Maderna)
13. Palestrina-Konzert-1. Grave assai sostenuto (Transcription By Bruno Maderna)
14. Palestrina-Konzert-2. Andante (Transcription By Bruno Maderna)
15. Palestrina-Konzert-3. Vivace (Transcription By Bruno Maderna)

Dennis Russell Davies
Orchestra della Svizzera italiana
Pablo Márquez Guitar