De La Soul – And The Anonymous Nobody (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

De La Soul – And The Anonymous Nobody (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:08:08 minutes | 716 MB | Genre: Rap
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Digital Booklet | © A.O.I., LLC

De La Soul are back in business with an absolute banger. After a couple of years in the wilderness, having to resort to Kickstarter to fund this project, it’s hard to know whether they’re aware of what regular albums sound like, or whether they just don’t care. « And the Anonymous Nobody » is an album with the Midas touch, taking the best sounds around and blending them together into a deliciously fresh cocktail. Funky bass riffs collide with gospel chorus and old skool hip hop on “Pain” (ft Snoop Dogg) and “Snoopies”, while other tracks like “Property of” and “Memory of … (US)” are far more minimalist,  mixing jazz infused chords with sparse bass lyrics. “CBGBS” and “Lord Intended” explore the space between rap and rock and deliver a raucous, expansive sound that’s totally engaging and fulfilling: a crossover we never knew we needed. In a style that’s oddly reminiscent of Gorillaz at their apogee, “And the Anonymous Nobody” feels more like a collaborative mashup that your brilliantly talented friends made, rather than something produced for popular consumption, and it’s great! As if the creative force of De La Soul wasn’t enough, the numerous artists who feature is a real who’s who: Jill Scott, Snoop Dogg, Damon Albarn, David Byrne, Little Dragon, 2chainz, Usher, Roc Marciano, Estelle, Pete Rock and even the British singer Justin Hawkins, from The Darkness ! These additions only add to the magic at work here, by bringing their own distinctive styles to an already eclectic mix. As a result this album is brimming with personality, as well as a total disregard for standard practice. Long narrative introductions are followed by funky choruses, tiny rock interjections, honest yet well-delivered lyrics… A veritable musical tour de force, and a lesson in creativity for those seeking originality in a world of mass production. It’s one of those albums that keeps on giving, to be savoured time and time again.

01. Genesis feat. Jill Scott
02. Royalty Capes
03. Pain feat. Snoop Dogg
04. Property of feat. Roc Marciano
05. Memory of… (US) feat. Estelle & Pete Rock
07. Lord Intended feat. Justin Hawkins
08. Snoopies feat. David Byrne
09. Greyhounds feat. Usher
10. Sexy Bitch
11. Trainwreck
12. Drawn feat. Little Dragon
13. Whoodeeni feat. 2 Chainz
14. Nosed Up
15. You Go Dave (A Goldblatt Presentation) feat. David Goldblatt
16. Here in After feat. Damon Albarn
17. Exodus