Betty Who – Take Me When You Go (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Betty Who – Take Me When You Go (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 46:06 minutes | 590 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © RCA Records Label

“Take Me When You Go” is the debut studio album by Australian recording artist Betty Who, released by RCA Records. The album is preceded by the extended plays The Movement, Slow Dancing and Worlds Apart. Who writes from the perspective of a millennial learning to navigate breakups, loves of all shapes and sizes, and coming to terms with her own growing maturity. The album debuted at number 68 on the Billboard 200, selling 5,000 copies in its first week.

Betty Who’s Movement and Slow Dancing EPs were so winning that fans wondered if she’d be able to expand her charms into a full-length album. Take Me When You Go answers that question with a qualified yes. Who won over listeners with a bold, playful sound that made the most of ’80s inspirations like Whitney Houston as well as more contemporary artists such as Robyn and Katy Perry (a former tourmate of Who’s). Even more so than many artists, her style is so distinctive that her music lives or dies by the quality of the songwriting, and the tracks that originally caught listeners’ attention are still the standouts here. The Houston-inspired “Somebody Loves You” is as vibrant as ever; “Heartbreak Dream” remains soaringly romantic; and “Alone Again” continues to charm with its flirtatious yet bittersweet melody and slowly shredding guitar solo, which gives even more cred to Who’s ’80s devotion. Though the rest of Take Me When You Go is pleasant, it’s not quite as distinctive as these highlights, whether it’s the breezy pop of “Just Like Me” or the fizzy “Runaways” and “All of You,” which echo “Heartbreak Dream” and suggest a more mature version of Teenage Dream-era Perry. Along with her longtime producer/co-writer Peter Thomas, Who works with a host of other collaborators, which may explain why Take Me When You Go sometimes feels a little diluted. However, “Glory Days”‘ crystalline synths and gated drums make it one of the best new songs here, while “Better”‘s hooks give its balladry some bite. Even if it’s a little safer than expected, Take Me When You Go has a lot of appealing moments.

01 – Just Like Me
02 – High Society
03 – Glory Days
04 – Somebody Loves You
05 – Missing You
06 – Better
07 – All of You
08 – Runaways
09 – A Night to Remember
10 – Heartbreak Dream
11 – Alone Again
12 – Dreaming About You
13 – California Rain